THE WOMAN WITH THE ISSUE OF BLOOD

You must really wonder what this will be all about🙂 Well, a few days ago, I happened to listen again to a song of Nicole C. Mullen (one of my favorite singer !) entitled “One touch”. The music didn’t really catch me the first time I listen to it (you know, just like when you’re a child and you listen to a foreign music, you mimic the words without trying to make any sense🙂, but later I paid more attention to the lyrics and they really struck a cord in my heart. But before going any further, here are the words :

One Touch
Been ostracized for 12 years
I’m used to being alone
Spent everything I had
And now it’s gone
I’m used to being put down
My issues tell it all
My only hope is anchored
In this fall

Chorus
If I could just touch the hem of His garment
I know I’d be made whole
If I could just press my way thru this madness
His love would heal my soul
If only one touch

So many people calling
How could He ever know
That just a brush of Him
Would stop the flow
If he knew would He rebuke me
Or shame me to the crowd
Well I’m desperate ‘cause it’s never or it’s now

Chorus

Suddenly He turned around
He said somebody has unleashed my power
Well, Frightened and embarrassed I bowed
You see I told Him of my troubles
And how…

I had to touch the Hem of His garment
And I know I’ve been made whole
And how I had pressed my way thru the madness
And His love has healed my soul

Then with one word He touched the hem of my garment
And you know I’ve been made whole
And somehow He pressed His way thru my madness
And His love has healed my soul

I tell you He touched me
He reached way down and touched me
When no one else would touch me
Jesus, shol’ ‘nough He touched me…
And I know I’ve been made whole

Written by Nicole C. Mullen ©2007

 

You must have guessed the reason behind my title by now🙂 If not, you’ll find this lady in Luke 8 : 43. I just thought this song was beautiful, because it tells a story, the story of a woman who is probably desperate after so many years trying to find a way out to an incurable disease. Just picture this lady,”ostracized” as she says, of the society at that time, being labeled as impure. She catches a glimpse of Jesus, who is probably pressed on every side by the crowd and despite the fact she might be stoned if found out, she decides to venture to touch him. But this is not all. What will happen if she makes her way to Jesus and that He discovers she has touched Him ? What if He shames her in front of everybody or shows disgust and scorn for being touched by a woman with an issue of blood ? He would be in His right … Does she really want to face all that… and maybe death ?

You see, this is also the story of a woman willing to go against the tide and the traditions of her time, just to touch Jesus and become whole. Her sickness was supposed to keep her outside of the city or at least in a remote place -so said the law-.

 Here is the question I ask myself : would I be willing to go against the tide, agaisnt the way things are done, just to come closer to Jesus and receive what He has for me ?…

 

PS : You can probably listen to this song here http://www.myspace.com/therealnicolecmullen

I hope you like it🙂

5 thoughts on “THE WOMAN WITH THE ISSUE OF BLOOD

  1. hey and greetings in Jesus name…wow…i just love the lyrics to this song….impressive….without even hearing the music to this song….the lyrics are powerful….just as the word of God is sharper than any two-edge sword, these lyrics hit to the heart and soul. all of us have somewhere in our time had our issue of blood…whether it be physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual….just that one touch…..that wonderful blessed touch….is what makes us whole….thanks again and God bless ya….keep writing those songs we love so much…..in Jesus name.

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you may be
    a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog
    and will come back down the road. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice
    evening!

    • Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed reading. I have to say, I write when I have something to say, and in so many places. So I don’t know if you’ll see me often, but it is definitively encouraging to be read🙂

      take care

Leave a Reply

