AMERICAN FOOD, TALK ABOUT IT !!!

I’m French, so you’ll understand that among my interests, Cuisine occupies an important place hehe. One of my joys in life is actually to collect recipes from the different countries I visit, because I do think what people eat shows a lot of their culture. Plus it’s a lot of fun to surprise people that come over to your house with some exotic dish :) 

Here, however, I have to admit that I’m encountering serious obstacles on my quest. First of all, what is American food ? Hmm good question ! I’ve been here for only 2 weeks now, and beside “Hamburgers”, there is not a huge variety of typical dishes on the menu. Texas is quite famous for its steaks though, and I have to say that I did go to a wonderful Mexican place the other day. By the way, here is a tip if you intend to visit such a place in a near future : don’t “embrace” the appetizers too much, as the rest of the meal is usually pretty consistent. lol So back to my quest🙂 After much research -hehe-, I actually found out that the ice-cream cone was invented in the US during the Louisiana purchase Exposition in 1904 -which I am forever grateful for-, along with food more common like sodas, hot dogs, cheesecakes, smoothies or pancakes. If you’re interested, I’d encouraged you to visit this page on the subject, it’s quite interesting : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cuisine_of_the_United_States

Anyways, so as you see, food here is a lot about junk food. And here comes my mini-demonstration time :

GOD HELP ME ESCAPE MY ENEMY !!!🙂

 

Fortunately for me, our base here has organized fitness courses, which, if not keep me totally fit, will at least reduce the damage. you should see us every morning, jumping jacks, sky reaches, touch down lunges, cat back, thumbs up rows, … for those who are familiar with fitness exercises.

PS : I used to be totally anti-fitness, and I guess I still am, to some extend. I mean, come on, why would you take your car for a hundred meters and then go spend 2 hours at the fitness center ??!! But hey, looks like I’m more opened to compromise😉

I actually was sent here with a secret mission : one of my friends asked me to inquire about a special cookie recipe, so faithful to my duty, here you go Helene🙂 But since cookies are always better when you share them with somebody, I thought you wouldn’t mind me extending that to everybody😉

 

My thanks to Margie Kennard, my friend Kari’s mom, who sent me that recipe and is obviously a mother among mothers :) So you guys, I hope you enjoy and appreciate the value of this family recipe.

M&M  Cookies

1 cup shortening( I use Crisco)            2 1/4 cup flour ( I use a little extra)
1 cup brown sugar                             
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup granulated sugar                     

1 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla                                      

1 1/2 cup plain M&Ms (3/4 lb package)
2 eggs

Cream shortening, sugars, eggs and vanilla thorougly.  sift together flour, soda and salt. Add dry ingredients gradually to creamed mixture.  Mix well.  Stir in 1/2 cup M&Ms.  Reserve remaining for decorating.  Drop by teaspoonful on ungreased baking sheet.  Decorate tops of cookies with remaining M&Ms.  Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 min until golden brown.

Happy eating !!!

Leave a Reply

