THE RIVERS OF BABYLON…

Alea jacta es! I am not only insensitive to most of the modern music, but I can there is a deep antagonism between us. When I get to hear a real concert on the radio, it’s just like a deep breath of air. I was trying to point my finger on the problem, an so far, my deep study😉 has led me to say modern songs deeply lack musical touch and harmony -which they have replaced by noise-. And maybe a soul too…

 Going through internet, I stumbled upon a song -a real classic-, which I have heard and re-heard but never got to get around the meaning…  The lyrics are inspired by Psalm 137, which tells the story of the Hebrews in exile. It deeply touched me to see that in the music video, the same words are used to tell the story of the Black peoples.

By the rivers of babylon, there we sat down
Ye-eah we wept, when we remembered zion.

When the wicked
Carried us away in captivity
Required from us a song
Now how shall we sing the lords song in a strange land

Let the words of our mouth and the meditations of our heart
Be acceptable in thy sight here tonight

Leave a Reply

