SOMETHING JUST ROCKED MY WORLD

Something just rocked my world

I have been wondering a lot about what the Body of Christ should look like lately. I mean, let’s face it! People are talking all the time about the Body coming together, being united, but what I can predominantly see –I didn’t want to say all I can see, are divisions, judgment, criticisms… Just recently, I attended a prayer gathering and felt so constricted inside. Like I was not able to join in. Maybe it’s just me, I thought at first. Maybe I just don’t fit in. I started fearing that I was always going to feel alien among Christians. It’s very unsettling to know, hear that you’re part of the body of Christ and be ill at ease with your “family”.

So I asked God: “What don’t I fit in here? How am I supposed to join heart with these people? Can you help me find my place in your Body?”

You know what He said? He made me understand He is the One that gives me my place in His Body, that unites me to His people. It cannot come from a human effort, since it’s something not from this earth. That might sound a little simplistic, but I know deep down this is the answer for me –and maybe more people out there. How do I know? Well, somehow, I’m not worried about it anymore now. I may still not get why people yell when they pray, talk about God but then seem to act in such and such other way… But somehow, it doesn’t affect me that much anymore.

But God didn’t stop there! I told Him how sorry I was that we, His people, so little looked like Him. My heart was heavy I tell you! But as always, He showed up in a way that was nothing like I expected. You know, kind of the Jesus’ style in the Bible, when He is asked if the Jews should pay taxes or not and He responds in a much higher way, going right in the heart of the matter. Well, this time, God just simply gave my His eyes for His Body. More accurately for His bride. The way He looks at us, poor wounded broken divided people is with loving eyes. HE is the one that unites us. And what’s so beautiful about it, when God sees things a certain way, it starts happening, no matter what sorry state we are in. That God of ours!

You may wonder how this is all gonna happen. Well, me too. Recently however, I read this verse that clicked into my mind:

“He did not say this on his own, but as high priest that year he prophesied that Jesus would die for the Jewish nation, and not only for that nation but also for the scattered children of God, to bring them together and make them one.”  (John 11:51-52)

Hmm interesting I thought.

Then, I happened to watch this video.

… and you need to hear about it. To see it. And to be in awe, just like I was.

Leave a Reply

