MATRIX… FASHION OR CRAVING?

Matrix? I’m not sure…

The Matrix has been a fashionable theme these recent years. I have to tell you, when I first watched the movie, I came out staggering on my feet, my whole world upside down, thinking that there was no possible truth to be found. It must have taken a few days for my system to actually digest the movie and get rid of the bad stuff.

Hm yes, I am pretty extreme in case you’re wondering ahaah

Matrix, I was saying… I dare say that it shows how people perceive there is something beyond them-some call it God, but for most… shh, don’t even mention it. And yet… when I think of it, a story inevitably pops into my mind.

A few years ago, when I was in university, I had an interesting conversation with a friend. She was sharing with me her doubts about the Bible being the Word of God. Of course, for any rationalist person, her arguments had some weight: The Bible was written by a bunch of men, all individuals subject to flaws and failures… So the, who could prove this book was inspired by God. I have to recognize I was at a loss because she had precisely pointed out one of my questions. I realized I, of all, needed an answer to that question. After all, I had to know if this book was solid enough to be a foundation for my life. After reviewing -and dismissing, Sunday school teachings and my own experience, which obviously were not very helpful, I just asked God my question.

By the way, did I forget to mention that all this laborious process happened within a stroke of lightning? Because amazingly, it took me but a few seconds to respond to my friend:

“Lea, you know that during the Middle Age, everybody believed that the earth was as flat as a plate… Well, even though this was the universal belief, it didn’t prevent the Earth from being round.” I saw her eyes widen in understanding, while I’m pretty sure my mouth hung in amazement. I reckon at that moment, we both understood something: God was bigger than use- that’s why He is God, isn’t it?, which meant that we needed his help-some call this revelation, to understand things. In other words, there are things we cannot understand and process through the mold of our small human intelligence or our experience, and we need God to impart the Truth in our mind.

To be honest, I didn’t know at the time that this moment would become foundational for my life.
For those who are Christians and are reading me, does this verse ring a bell?

“As the heavens are higher than the earth,
  so are my ways higher than your ways
  and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

(Isaiah 55:9)

I’ll just finish with this prayer which really comes from the depths of my heart and short 23-year experience (and yeah, in case you’re wondering, I pray this everyday🙂 I figured if anything, that might bring some snippets of truth in this brain of mine!)

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
 test me and know my anxious thoughts.

 See if there is any offensive way in me,
 and lead me in the way everlasting.”

(Psalm 139: 23-24)

Leave a Reply

