PaRaBlE oF tHe LoSt CaT

 
What is the price of two sparrows — one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it.Matthew 10:29, NLT
“I can’t find the cat!” my sister said. One look at her face and her eyes, wide with concern, and I immediately slipped on my coat, ready to go outside. I knew what she meant. This was New Year’s Day, people had been drinking like fish the night before, and the roads were the last place you’d want to be! Anxiety was now rapidly building in me too.

“God…” I started praying, but was stopped by the lump in my throat. I couldn’t, or wouldn’t talk to God right now. Better to call and search! Of course, the first place I hurried to was the road, which I searched thoroughly. “Kémuel!” I screamed in vain. I came back home heavy-hearted, shaking my head. This was a bad start to the day. We tried to get on with preparing for the feast to come, but our thoughts were elsewhere. Mum suggested praying, but I wouldn’t hear of it. We had lost several cats in the past, and it always started the same way. No matter how hard I prayed, nothing changed. It seemed like a curse.

In the end I decided I could speak to God about my anger and sorrow. Immediately a verse came into my mind: “What is the price of two sparrows – one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it.” It was as if God was telling me He had seen what had happened to my other cats, and He didn’t condemn me for the grief I had felt over them. I heaved a sigh of relief and murmured back: “God, I trust you! I don’t know what’s going to happen to my cat, but I put my whole life in your hands, whatever the outcome.” Relief washed over me. I wouldn’t let myself fully hope, for fear of discovering the worst. Still, I sensed God had touched the real issue. The loss and grief I would feel if I were to lose another pet.

At that moment, a muffled meowing came from behind the closed shutters. My heart soared as I rushed to open the window, and sure enough there he was. I can’t tell you how much I thanked God. Mum told me later she had felt prompted to pray for our little animal. More than an answer to prayer, this whole experience had taught me an important lesson.

Sometimes, things can come between us and our communication with God; between us and our ability to feel the Father’s heart; between us and His answer to our prayers. Things like unhealed hurts, disappointments or even curses. But God doesn’t condemn us when we come to Him with it all. No, He understands. He gently takes our pain away and shelters us under His wings and deals with what needs to be dealt with!

Prayer: Father, thank You because You truly are my refuge. Today, I come to You as I am, with what I have. Help me to not be mad at You, but to open my heart to You, so that You can deal with my real enemy. Take away everything that has distorted my relationship with You. And help me to get back what the enemy has robbed me of. Amen.

Leave a Reply

