POEM

 

‘When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you hang my first painting on the refrigerator, and I wanted to paint another one.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you feed a stray cat, and I thought it was good to be kind to animals.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you make my favourite cake for me, and I knew that little things are special things.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I heard you pray and I believed there is a God I could always talk to.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I felt you kiss me good night, and I felt I was loved.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw tears come from your eyes, and I learned that sometimes things hurt, but it’s alright to cry.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you give to someone needy and I learned the joy of giving.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you always did your best and it made me want to be all I could be.

When you thought I wasn’t looking, I heard you say “thank you” and I wanted to say thanks for all the things I saw when you thought I wasn’t looking.’

Unknown author

Leave a Reply

